Week O’Nautical – Wear To Work

Zoey Loves Week O'Nautical

Zoey Loves Week O’Nautical

As much as I would love to be on a yacht today, I have to be at work… in my cube… doing all things completely not associated with sailing the seas and basking in the sun.  Since I can’t be yachting, I might as well wear something nautical to work.  Lucky for me nautical trends work just as well for work as they do for play!  I was inspired by this stunning image from pinterest of this perfect yacht-tastic outfit:

Nautical Inspiration

Nautical Inspiration

That would be highly inappropriate for work, however I can take those same elements and put them into a work friendly outfit!  Sailor pants… check!  White button down… check!  Brown leather accessories… check!  Bronzy eye makeup and pink lip… check!

Taking Nautical To Work

Taking Nautical To Work

For my take I took these navy ankle pants from mark. and paired them with a Brooks Brothers Non-Iron and then added on some fun nautical jewelry and neutral peep-toe pumps, also from Brooks Brothers.  With ankle pants a good sized heel will help create longer lines and avoid the stumpy frumpy look some ankle pants can create.  For work, when wearing a tall heel stick to a classic shape and material like these brown leather peep-toes.  Brooks Brothers has GREAT shoe options for work that are extremely comfortable and well made.

Nautical Accessories For Work Are All Play

Nautical Accessories For Work Are All Play

Chain link bracelet and gold knot bracelet (as part of the Glimmer And Gleam Bracelet Set) and pyramid studs are from mark. while the navy rope necklace is a past find from Target.  My pink lip is Make It Rich Lip Crayon in Punch (now 40% off for a limited time at the eBoutique!)

What To Wear To Work - Nautical Edition

What To Wear To Work – Nautical Edition

I expressed my love for crisp white paired with contrasting navy as my favorite nautical pairing (see here) so it only makes sense that I continue that trend for work.  What makes this outfit work so well for the office are the clean lines and the professionalism from a good white button down shirt.  Even just wearing it on a random work day I felt more put together and professional, like I was able to conquer the day (and i did!  i even made my bed!)!  Every closet, regardless of your occupation, should contain a good white button down shirt.  The best on the market is the Brooks Brother Non-Iron.

DSC_0739

Brooks Brothers Non-Iron Dress Shirt In Tailored Fit

Brooks Brothers Non-Iron Dress Shirt In Tailored Fit

Just a little testimonial.  I haven’t worn this shirt in a good 6 months to a year and this is how I pulled it out.  Look how crisp it is, with ZERO ironing straight out of the dryer and hung (crammed) in the closet.  Not only is it a true non-iron, the material is fantastic, stitching is fantastic and fit (for even a large bust) is fantastic.  You get what you pay for with this one.  When you need to look the part, this is the shirt you need to pull out and wear.  Every working girl’s wardrobe should contain at least one investment in a Brooks Brothers Non-Iron.  Your promotion will thank me later.

Zoey Kisses and Champaign Dreams

Zoey Kisses and Champaign Dreams

 

5 comments

  1. I teach kids to tie knots in Pathfinders – it’s a group like scouts. So it’s driving me a little crazy that you have rope around your neck because that’s an absolute no-no in knot-tying. But I love love love the rest of your outfit. Kudos on the nautical theme

    1. haha well at least its not a real rope tied around my neck just a necklace with a normal necklace fastener! and thanks for the kudos 🙂

Leave a Reply

